What’s an OER? | 3

The most surprising factors of my internship so far have been the amount of freedom and the bulk of research I’ve been allowed to get involved with.

One of the most major projects I’ve had to look into was regarding OER. OER stands for Open Educational Resources which according to the William and Flora Hewlett Foundation is defined as “teaching, learning, and research resources that reside in the public domain or have been released under an intellectual property license that permits their free use and re-purposing by others.”

As I am interning for an educational resources company, my goal was: to learn as much as I could about OER, find out which companies offer OER, and see what the possible future of OER is.

For this project, I was completely unsupervised and allowed to make this project into whatever I wanted it to be. In the end, I made a detailed report about OER and was able to present it to some of my coworkers.

Additionally, I have been doing research on Common Core standards as well as the new SAT, hoping to gain as much information as I can to present to my company so that they know what to expect with different changes both nationally and in various states.

I am really hoping that my internship will have more surprises to come and that I am given even more research projects to complete so that I gain more understanding.

IMG_1748

This is Brookfield Place, a popular spot for grabbing food as well as shopping. Recently, when I went back before the NYC Pride Parade, there was this ‘Love Wins’ sculpture on display.

IMG_1749

This is Brookfield Place facing the piers.

IMG_1768

Here is One World Trade Center (along with it’s Snapchat geotag). I often have to walk past it to get to work and I still can’t get over how striking it is.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment