Prose Media – Blog Post #1

Working as a Marketing and Business Development Intern at Prose Media has been a fun experience thus far. I view this internship not as a fancy title to add to my resume/LinkedIn, or as a conversation icebreaker with a recruiter at a Fortune 500 company but as a learning opportunity that does not have to involve studying for/taking an exam. The CEO, Justin Belmont, who I work directly with has been not only a great mentor, but also someone awesome to talk to. As a remotely employed intern my impression prior to working for a start-up during the school year was that the CEO and all his employees would be “demanding and pushy” to meet deadlines as are with a good majority of start-ups, but that was not the case. All those impressions were wiped away during our phone conversations about Prose Media and the assignments that were given to me. Justin and his colleague, John Hyslop, who I worked with to redesign their website was not only informative, but friendly and receptive to my ideas. Although, I cannot speak to the dress code or office politics, the diversity of backgrounds uncanny and I look forward to the rest of the semester.

Leave a comment