Reflection | #5

Beginning my first internship experience was worrying. I did not know what I would be expected to do on a daily basis. Reflecting back to my first day I completed readings regarding LEAP programs. I thought to myself…for the next 6 weeks I would be reading/editing material for LEAP instead of having a hands on experience. But, I was totally wrong. The following weeks were packed with planning for LFS. A program in which 130 incoming high school students would complete before the end of summer. Lesson plans, schedules, materials and PowerPoints had to be finalized. Client meetings were arranged, face to face speech evaluations were completed, speech therapy sessions were observed and the LEAP app was in full swing. The whole summer was packed with events and opportunities. I was able to speak with grad school students and learn about their coursework and placement. It was bittersweet saying goodbye. But, I am thankful I was able to experience this hands on internship and I am excited for future opportunities with LEAP.

 

 

Leave a Reply

