Logging Off |Blog #5| Final Blog

What would you do if someone told you that you have four months to do what you want with? Four months to do whatever it is that makes you happy and truly explore what you want out of life.

Societal norms push us to attend school. Of course we make the decision to wake up and go to class everyday but we are conditioned from a young age to think that there is no life without school, no jobs without college, and no happiness without knowledge. However, there are four months of the year that come with no written agenda.

The summer is a time when students are free to see beyond the confines of the classroom and explore what it is like to live in the real world and apply those conceptual ideas to real situations with internships and jobs.

This summer I was fortunate enough to be able to work alongside professionals in the entrepreneurial realm of the work force. I spent the summer doing data inputting, marketing, event planning, and writing for the company blog at Treps Nest. Here I was able to learn so much about myself and marketing.

Through the tasks assigned to me and the work that I took on I was able to employ so many of the items discussed in my classes to real life situations.

Reflecting on my summer working for Treps Nest I am hit with a wave of emotions. I am so happy and fortunate to have been able to make those professional business connections and work with such great people at the company. I am happy to return to Ann Arbor and use what I have learned in the classroom. I am nostalgic for my time with the company and appreciate all the opportunities I was awarded.

Before I log off for the final time I would like to thank the Literature Science and Arts department at the University of Michigan for making this summer a reality. I am so thankful for the LSA Summer Vocations and I am aware that this would not have been possible without their help. The Michigan difference doesn’t start and stop in the classroom.

Forever Go Blue

 

Leave a Reply

