Final Thoughts

There is a lot to be learned while working in the political arena. This scholarship afforded me the opportunity to expand my professional network and gain a myriad of experiences. One great thing about living in California is the diversity of people here that you will meet. That is one reason why I originally wanted to attend the University of Michigan. I have had great mentors that helped me be the best worker that I could be this summer. I was grateful to have the opportunity to be in charge of a state senate campaign that won its primary. There was a lot of hard work and rollercoasters but I was able to build my professional network and learned to overcome obstacles. Through the campaign, I met so many great people that I will continue to keep in touch with. I learned a lot about money in politics and how that influence major races. I learned how to create a winning model for a campaign; I also learned quickly what doesn’t work in a campaign with many constituents. I was blessed to work in the State Senate. I met with business leaders and heard how the government can help or hinder them. I met with homeless veterans struggling to get on their feet. I met different constituents and heard their stories about how our office has helped them. With so many ways to communicate now a day, it seems that people sometimes forget how affective face-to-face communication can be. The biggest lesson that I learned from working with the State Senate is the power of personal communication. Sometimes people just need someone to listen in order to help them out, not just nod attentively. People can make a difference on a small to grand scale working in state politics. That is why I like it so much. You get to help improve the lives of the people in your community. It is definitely a career path I could see myself going into some day.

13254636_1744387695841440_6676153761132889681_o

IMG_3144

Leave a Reply

