What have you learned about the city in which you are working? Would you like to return? | Prompt #9

Manhattan offers many learning experiences!

One of these was my commute. I’d visited NYC and traveled on the subway before, but this was usually during during off-peak hours and uneventful. Living and working in the city meant riding during rush hour, however, and this was a very different experience. It took me several weeks to get used to being squished into train cars with an overload of other commuters. It was also novel to encounter a stream of performers in subway cars and platforms that played for people on their way home.

On a related note, my inexperience with the subway also ensured that I continued to encounter new environments. Accidental trips on the wrong train happened when I wasn’t paying close attention — luckily this was generally when I wasn’t in a hurry, so I was able to stop and smell the roses in my unintended destinations while I puzzled over how to get home.

I do think that I’d like to return. I’d heard that people’s relationship with the city tends to be love it or hate it. I did encounter many people in those categories, but I also found many who have a pragmatic relationship with Manhattan — they don’t feel especially passionate one way or the other, but appreciate it for all the practical things it offers. I think I also fall in this category. I don’t see city life itself as reason enough to return, but all the tangibles that NYC offers make it a likely place to come for future career opportunities.
Leave a Reply

