My Internship Reflection | Blog Post V

When you finish your internship, take a moment to reflect on the impact of the experience.

Interning in a foreign country, living in a city, and meeting new people has allowed me to gain unforgettable experiences and grow as a person this summer.

14068305_1048723468497482_2256759421016819418_n

With my colleagues/friends from TMU at our internship program’s banquet

During my time in Taiwan, I got the chance to travel to Kaohsiung, Taichung, Tainan (all cities in Taiwan), and Thailand.  Within each city or country, I met different people of all different ages and backgrounds.  Blood related or not, each moment, interaction, or hangout with each person was a memorable experience.  I’m not saying every interaction was comfortable or likable, but just meeting people and listening to their personal stories was something that I enjoyed a lot.

After spending ninety days abroad, two of the most reoccurring and important lessons I ran into were:

  • Not judging a book by its cover…like a lot of people, I’ve always thought of myself as someone that was accepting and non-judgmental.  It wasn’t until halfway through my internship that I realized I was very guilty of judging people by my first impressions of them.  I was really shocked when I found out I was actually judging the people that I thought were judging me.  The people who I was intimidated by the most were some of the most eccentric and accepting people I’ve ever met.  Because of this, I never want to miss a chance of getting to know someone because of a false first impression.
  • Being in charge of my own decisions…being away in a different country from my parents meant no immediate contact at times.  As a result, I was forced to solve any issues that came up in the moment by myself.  I was also encouraged by my grandparents, aunts, uncles, colleagues, and supervisors to have trust and confidence in my own judgment in making decisions.  Everyone’s patience in me as I learned to balance this new finding allowed me to grow up and have more faith in my opinions, actions, and overall in myself.

This internship has made me more comfortable and confident in myself.  It’s reassuring to know that I am capable of a lot things such as traveling alone and making my own decisions.  As for that, I am eternally grateful for the people I’ve met and for the experiences I’ve gathered during my summer internship in Taipei.

Until next year Taiwan ✌️

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

