Looking Back | #5

Looking back, this has been the best summer I’ve ever had. I don’t think things could have been better. I was able to help provide free legal services to the low-income and the elderly by working for Iowa Legal Aid.

I made lifelong friends in Iowa who I already miss since I’ve moved back to Michigan. I was able to work in an office with people who are passionate about the work they do, and it was nice to be able to work with them to achieve our goals of providing hope, dignity, and justice to the populations we serve.

This internship allowed me to learn more about the legal process, work directly with clients, and make lasting connections with the community. It was amazing.

I was able to head the pro se divorce clinic, I was the statewide volunteer coordinator, statewide receptionist, performed presentations on financial literacy, did tax outreaches across northeast Iowa, and coordinated the website review project as well as participating in trainings and exercises with other staff members.

I was able to experience a new part of the country, explore Minneapolis, MN, visit Madison, WI, and hike all across the MN-WI-IL-IA area. I was able to meet new people and see new things.

Forever grateful for this summer. Dubuque will always have my heart, and I’m excited to go back and visit.

 

 

Leave a Reply

