Horizons | #5

Finally flying away from my internship at the U.S. Department of Commerce in Washington, DC, I am most struck with the newfound knowledge that I am fully equipped and capable of doing all the endeavors I have dreamed about. I can succeed at a government position in Washington, DC. I am eloquent and intelligent enough to impress Assistant Secretaries and Senior Advisors. My street smarts and independence are sufficient to keep me not just alive but thriving in a new city completely foreign to me. Don’t get me wrong, I credit a significant portion of my success this summer to the grace of my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and the faithful hand of God the Father. Nonetheless, I am an adult now and this internship provides proof that I can survive as a single working woman in a big city.

As I settle back into Ann Arbor for my senior year, I have the freedom to decide which possible future avenue I wish to pursue. I could go straight from graduation into a Master of International Relations program in a European country, wasting no time getting my feet wet in the international trade game. I could stay in Ann Arbor for a year and intern with Cru, the Christian organization of which I have been a member and leader throughout my undergraduate years, gaining valuable administrative and managerial experience while continuing to love and be loved by dear friends a bit longer before I move away. Likewise, I may decide to jump right into two or three years of work experience as a fellow in the Department of the Treasury or managerial assistant of the Council on Foreign Relations before pursuing a dual Masters and J.D. program.

Honestly, having “U.S. Department of Commerce” on my resume and numerous friends and contacts all around the country broadens my vocational horizons significantly. Thus, I now have the freedom to dream a little bit about what I want. My time in DC was challenging, terrifying, and periodically painful, but I would not have traded it for anything. Through my internship, I developed a deeper understanding of myself and a richer appreciation for our country and everything civil servants encounter on a daily basis. Today, I get to snuggle back into my Ann Arbor apartment and just be a college student. But tomorrow, I really could be on the other side of the world. And that is a wonderful truth.

Until the next adventure. ❤

One thought on “Horizons | #5

Leave a Reply

