Until Next Time Brilliant Detroit!|Post #5

This summer was one of growth. When I first arrived in Detroit I did not know much about the city or its people. My knowledge of Detroit could be summed up as “poverty, cars, and Motown.” However, over the course of the summer I learned that their is more to Detroit than the media shows. Detroit is filled with people that care about their town and want to see it succeed. Detroit has an incredible past and an amazing future.

Also, I learned about community-based work. A major lesson I learned was the importance of listening to community members. Community members understand their needs better than any community organizer and a non-profit can not succeed with out them. I also learned  a lot about running a non-profit from my boss, Cindy. Cindy was an amazing mentor and I know that because of Cindy I will be a great CEO one day. Overall, I am very thankful for this experience!

Leave a Reply

