Sightseeing

Yesterday, my boss had to run a few errands downtown, so I of course tagged along with her. We ended up finishing rather early and I was given the rest of the day off. Already being downtown, I took the opportunity to explore some of the local culture. First, I ventured to a bookstore that I had heard so many things about. It’s called The Last Bookstore and it definitely lived up to its hype. It’s California’s largest new and used book and record store. Being a bookworm, the book part of the store is where I spent most of my time. The interior itself is amazing. They have books on the wall as well as coming out of it. There are books in some seriously unusual places around the store. They have a room specifically designed just for first edition books (that was completely filled by the way), it was a dream come true. I even ended up finding the book that I was looking for, for only $6. Score. Next, I just walked around the streets of downtown Los Angeles for a bit. It’s pretty much like any city, extremely crowded and busy, yet one thing I did notice was that it was extremely dirty and smelly. More so than usual. Being from Chicago, I’m used to a city that is generally pretty clean. Los Angeles is similar to New York in one way: they are both filthy (literally and figuratively). As I was walking around I remembered another a building that I had been wanting to see for a long time-The Bradbury Building. I typed it into Google Maps on my phone and was happy to see that it was only a few blocks away, so of course I headed there. The Bradbury Building is the oldest commercial building remaining in Los Angeles. Honestly, my knowledge of the building had been pretty slim, I only knew about it because it has been used in many films and television shows, such as Blade Runner, (500) Days of Summer, and my personal favorite Chinatown. It was such a beautiful location in all of these films that I had to look up it’s location in the hope of visiting one day. That day had finally come and it was only more gorgeous in person. The Roman Renaissance interior architecture was so impeccable and detailed. I wish I could live in or even own this building. Today, the building acts as the headquarters for the Los Angeles Police Department’s Internal Affairs Division as well as a few other government agencies. Although, because of this, I was only allowed on the ground floor, the building proved to be nothing short of amazing. I had a great day off exploring the downtown area of Los Angeles.

Until next time.

Leave a Reply

