Final Reflection | #5

My internship with Scout has impacted me in several different ways. First and foremost, the experience was valuable because of the people I met and the things that I learned. I had the opportunity to interact with fellow interns who have aspirations similar to mine, and I was also able to get to know and learn from full-time writers for Scout. The other Scout interns came from all over the country and brought various perspectives to our conversations, and the people above us were consistently supportive while also being critical when necessary. Whether I pursue a career in journalism or not, my improved writing skills (largely because of Scout’s editors) should be an asset in the workplace.

This internship has also impacted my career outlook. I’m still not certain about which career I’m interested in pursuing, but I can officially say that writing about sports would be something that I would enjoy. However, I also learned through the experiences of the full-time writers for Scout that journalism can be an unstable field at times. There are more questions than answers at the moment, but my internship with Scout has helped highlight which questions are important, and will eventually help me make a more informed career choice in the future.

Leave a Reply

