Closing Thoughts | #5

13909325_10153786817208133_8173250092299233217_o

As the summer comes to a close, I’ve been reflecting on what I’ve learned at Amrita, as well as Sunseed Farms, an additional farm I’ve been working at to supplement my learning this summer. I’ve learned so much about food production these last few months and what work it truly takes to feed people as well as making that sustainable. At Sunseed Farms, we work on ecological farming, which means feeding the soil as we grow food. Learning and understanding this process this summer has been an incredible revelation in my understanding of the environment and our impact on it. Sunseed Farms alone feeds many families. We have a CSA of over 100 members and also do wholesale to local grocery stores and restaurants. It’s incredible how strong the local food community is, and it is something I would have never learned if I hadn’t taken this opportunity this summer. Amrita is a farm that isn’t producing anywhere near the amount that Sunseed is, so it was incredible to see the difference between a high functioning farm and one that requires much more work. I’ve learned a considerable amount at each site and they are lessons I hope to take with me through the rest of my life and share with many others. It’s incredibly important to our health and the health of the earth that we source our food responsibly and be careful of our environmental footprint. Having the opportunity to be outside everyday on a farm has really opened my eyes to how great this earth really is and it has been a summer I will remember for the rest of my life.

Leave a Reply

