Blog post 2

I feel really lucky to have been placed in the department that I was placed in because of the people that I get to work with. Specifically, my boss Harry has been an incredible mentor to me thus far.

Right away, Harry was super open and willing to help me with any questions I had. He was super encouraging whenever I was given a task and made me feel like I was really contributing to the team goals. I feel like this is a really important aspect to an internship because many times, interns are treated like the little guys on the food chain and therefore do not get a lot of responsibility. One of the main things that Harry helped me with was rewriting my resume and my cover letter. He helped explain the differences between a public sector and a private sector resume. Not only did he make me feel very confident in myself as I get ready to try and apply to jobs, but he helped explain all of the processes and make sure my resume was in the correct format going forward.

 

One of the things that I enjoy about working here is the fact that, while harry may be my mentor, everyone else is so willing to talk to me, answer questions, and give advice. I’ve talked to people about their various job paths and educational backgrounds and it has been very useful reference information as I try to figure out how I want to go forward with my future.

Leave a Reply

