Blog post 1

Hello! My name is Jillian Smith and I will be a senior this year. I am a double major in international Studies and Middle Eastern Studies. I am currently interning in Atlantic City at the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA), specifically with the Transportation Security Administration. I started this internship almost two months ago but am just getting around to blogging about it now (oops!).

 

Originally, I was a little nervous about interning with TSA. At the time when I was pursuing this position and coordinating with various employees, the TSA was in the news constantly for their lack of effectiveness and various issues with staffing and following protocol.Hearing negative press made me wonder what it would be like to actually work in a TSA building. The press made it sound like the administration was unorganized that people would be running around like chickens with their heads off. I was afraid I may be so lost as an intern. I was so wrong. My first day I was greeted by my boss and his coworkers and they made me feel at home immediately. They talked to me about my background and took the time to make sure they knew what I wanted out of my internship. After that conversation, we were able to craft an intern experience that catered specifically to my interests.

 

Leave a Reply

