The Future/Connections| #4

Working as an intern for Patient and Family Centered Care at Mott’s Children’s Hospital has been such an amazing opportunity, not only for experience, but also for making amazing connections. I have had the opportunity to speak with many different nurse practitioners, who work in many different fields such as cardiac intensive care units, neonatal intensive care units, anesthesiology, neurosurgery, etc. Before this internship the most exposure I had had in the health care field was shadowing a physician assistant in an outpatient clinic. While that was very helpful and I am thankful for that, these experiences lately have been a once in a lifetime chance for me. Being able to get advice on careers from nurse practitioners themselves help me feel more confident when making such important decisions that will impact me the rest of my life. While I am technically finished with my internship, I am still involved in shadowing experiences and talking with different health care professionals. Overall, PFCC has helped with lifetime connections and changed who I am as a person and hopefully helped me become a more patient, understanding, and informed future nurse practitioner. I am hoping with such great connections and experience at Mott’s, my future will be bright as a nurse and eventual nurse practitioner.

Leave a Reply

