Impact

It’s interesting how much of an impact you can make when you are passionate about something and motivated to make difference. That was how it was for me at the Michigan Urban Farming Initiative. I was passionate about the community and future of Detroit, and channeled this interest into making an impact. As the volunteer coordinator for the nonprofit, I wasn’t entirely sure what my role would be and how I would master a position I’d never preformed before. But I used my communication skills, leadership, and passion, to preform the position to the best of my ability.

As the volunteer coordinator for the Michigan Urban Farming Initiative, I was able to decrease the stress put on the President of MUFI by managing any on site tasks. This included leading the entire restructuring of the farm, leading volunteer groups, answering neighbor’s questions about the farm, and leading tours on the farm. I also was responsible for getting ~$35,000 donated to the nonprofit during my time working on site. It was great to be able to work with Detroiters on the farm and form connections with them. This was the most meaningful part of my time working for MUFI. I was able to connect with the community and form friends with community members. This was an experience that I will never forget, and I am positive that MUFI made a greater impact on me than I could ever make on them.

Leave a Reply

