Surgical Pathology | Blog #3

IMG_4787So, this day began with a tour around the Main Campus Henry Ford Hospital. I got a chance to go around to all of the different departments just to view how they operated and what materials they used. The last department that we stopped at was Autopsy. We were talking to a lady named Pam who performed the autopsies and she expressed that she noticed an intense level of excitement in me. I told her that I didn’t really like blood, and knew that I never wanted to be a doctor because I can’t handle seeing wounds and the body being cut open and operated on. She took that as an opportunity to open the door for me and allow me to gain some exposure. She asked me if I wanted to shadow in on an autopsy and I couldn’t pass up an opportunity like this, so I said yes. I got scrubbed up and ready to go. I had to wear shoe covers, some fabric boot protector, a face shield, a face mask, two pairs of gloves, etc.

Once I got in the examination room, she did not hesitate to get to work. She cut the dead body open and prepared to remove the organs. I was in total awe. I had never seen anything like this in person with my own two eyes. She allowed me to help her my assisting her in the removal of some organs and placing them in buckets for cleaning and presentation of the case at hand. She educated me on each organ that we removed and even some of the diseases/bacterial infection that we observed inside the body. It was the coolest thing ever!!! I got to see real life organs, not just pictures in a book. This experience made everything biology related make a little more sense.

Pam gave me the opportunity that many people wouldn’t even think of giving me, and I couldn’t be more thankful for that.

Leave a Reply

