Summer in the City | Blog #4

The Schuyler sisters do not lie when they sing “History is happening in Manhattan, and we just happen to be in the greatest city in the world” in the smash hit musical Hamilton (just one of many exciting things happening in the city of New York as I type this post). New York, New York is not famous for nothing – it’s fast, it’s exciting, and it’s full of opportunity.

I feel very fortunate to have been able to call NY home for a few short months. It’s the kind of place that is both completely unlike anything my Midwestern heart could ever comprehend, yet also has quickly come to feel like home. I have come to appreciate it’s special brand of warmth and invitation (not quite apparent on the surface). I have also gotten to explore almost every inch of Manhattan, having spent half of my summer living in Lower Manhattan near my office, and the latter half commuting from 106th St.

One of my most wild whims of the summer was the day I decided to walk the 150-odd blocks from my TriBeCa workplace to my apartment on the Upper West Side rather than hopping on the 1 train. My 30 minute commute took three hours to walk, and, though I was questioning my choice deeply by the time I reached midtown, I saw about a million different things I never would have experienced had I taken my daily route.

While I don’t recommend the walk for the faint of heart, it gave me the chance to soak in the city and reflect on all of the amazing things I’ve had the opportunity to do while interning. I walk a little faster, I’m fearless at crosswalks, and I appreciate a great slice of pizza. I’m feeling like a true New Yorker.

There’s nothing like summer in the city, and after this summer, I am eager to make a permanent move to NY upon graduation in the spring.

Leave a Reply

