How my Internship has influenced my future plans

Going into the Summer, I had a general idea of what my career goals were, to attend medical school and obtain a dual degree MD/PhD. However, i didn’t really know how I wanted to apply this training after, what I wanted to do after medical school. Through my internship at a major pharmaceutical company, I have been able to learn about new possibilities for ways to apply this training, and potential careers that I had never thought of before: Through networking and talking with scientists here at my internship, I have learned that it is possible to work as an MD/PhD in industry, on the developmental side of clinical trials. To me this possibility is very appealing, and it is an option I would not have known about if not for my summer internship. I move forward from this internship with a broader perspective on the potential applications of medical school training, and a new interest in research in industry.

Leave a Reply

