Future Plans | Post #5

My summer internship greatly affected my future plans. It helped me to further develop my skills and learn more about the field. Working at St. Joseph Mercy Oakland (SJMO) taught me that the road to success is not straight and narrow. It is often zig zagged and unique for every person. Prior to my internship I had never met company executives and I was thankful for the experience to not only meet them, but to be able to talk to them and get information and guidance. They told me how they obtained their positions and most of the time it was an unconventional route. Often times I stress over how I am going to achieve my goals and if I’ll be in the right position to be promoted. However, the people at SJMO told me that you can’t worry about that; you have to take chances instead, and be open to many positions because though it may seem unrelated to what you want to do, the skills you learn are the most important part. I’m so grateful to have had such a meaningful internship and it definitely affected how I’ll make decisions regarding my future. I am now more open to the experiences and skills that I’ll earn rather than the position title. SJMO taught me some invaluable lessons and I can’t thank them enough.

Leave a Reply

