the family visits | Blog #4

FullSizeRender-1 2

What you see there is my father reading the description for a work that covers the walls of an entire gallery. It is part of the New Contemporary collection at the museum. The work is very provocative. Knowing that my dad no longer watches films involving slaves I knew that he would cringe at the sight of wallpaper with a black man lynched, hanging from a tree and a white man sleeping. I could hear the anger in his breaths but I challenged him to reconcile those feelings by reading the description. In the moments that followed he was engaged with my mother in a discussion about that they had just seen. I knew that it would be a special moment as a family because they could experience art in the way that I do. Art has a way of making people uncomfortable and emotional and challenging beliefs but there is hope in the reconciliation of those feelings.

Leave a Reply

