Internship Picture | Blog #4

IMG_2300

Although most of my time at my internship is spent in a cubicle, over one weekend I got to participate in World Refugee Day and hang out with the IRC’s clients. I was dubbed the “official” photographer of the day and took my duties very seriously.

In the photo above one of the organization’s Congolese interpreter is teaching a traditional dance to all of the attendees. I have to admit I was pretty jealous I couldn’t partake in the dancing because I had to take photos. This photo includes all of the people I have the pleasure of working with on a daily basis. Whether that is the various interpreters we see or client’s children I happily keep busy while their parent are in a meeting.

It was nice to see all the clients and my co-workers out of an office environment. Everyone was understandably more relaxed and easy going. Likewise events like these are important in building a sense of community and trust between the IRC and our clients. I’m glad I was the photographer because now I have all these great photos to look back on to remember the people I worked with.

Leave a Reply

