Just a Desk? | #3

Okay, okay…I know what you’re thinking: “Matt, this is just a picture of your desk.  How on Earth does this define your internship?”

And while it is just a desk and a computer and a few post-it notes…it is so much more than meets the eye.  When I look at this picture, I am reminded of the many projects that took shape under my wing.  Copies of our magazine remind me of pitching ads to our advertisers.  A photo by a Grand Rapids ArtPrize artist reminds me of the process of selecting which pieces would be displayed in our venue.  A check-presenter reminds me of the nearly constant design projects that came to our doorstep.  Countless notes remind me of weekly meetings with my team and my growing network.  And, of course, my Sound of Music screensaver reminds me of my goofy coworkers, who changed my background every single week (you should have seen the week before…it was Cheetah Girls).

Had I been shown this picture when I began this internship, I would have taken it for its face value: a messy desk.  But once colored with my own experiences, this image invokes a strong sense of pride – one that I will carry with me long after the summer ends.
IMG_1767

Leave a Reply

