See You Later, Philadelphia | Post #5

It’s over. After ten days of sleeping no more than four hours at a time, riding Philadelphia public transportation to all corners of the city, and answering more emails than I thought possible, I’ve returned home and the internship is over. I spent three nights in the Wells Fargo Center, heard both Obama’s speak, along with Vice President Biden, Bernie Sanders, Elizabeth Warren, Bill Clinton, and a host of leaders of the Democratic Party. I literally brushed shoulders with Tim Kaine. It was a thrilling experience and frankly, I’m exhausted.

Rather than catalog the craziness that dominated the end of my internship, or write out some platitudes about what I learned, I’d like to respond to the prompt: What have you learned about the city in which you are working?  Would you like to return?

I have lived outside of Philadelphia for my entire life, but this internship constitutes the first time that I’ve spent considerable time living and working in the city. And I loved it. As someone who never had the urge to live in a big city, who only applied to colleges with suburban campuses, I got the bug. I learned that getting around Philadelphia is easy and that, contrary to popular belief, it may be one of the friendliest cities in the country. If law school or work brings me back to Philadelphia, I would be very happy.

Disclaimer: this post was written on August 2nd, 2016 and mistakenly saved as a draft.

Leave a Reply

