Quality Over Quantity #8

When I think of obstacles I think of extremely challenging things that I feel I am not able to do because I don’t possess the skills to do so. This obstacle that I’m writing about is opposite of this idea. During my internship I spent time interning with a professional basketball team where was assisting their community team. While doing this I would help with donations and advertising for youth camps and also the execution of these camps. When I pictured my internship I thought of non-stop stressful tasks that would seem impossible but I would get them done some way some how. This was a little different, I felt like I wasn’t getting enough work. A lot of times I found myself sitting around with nothing to do and this made me feel invaluable, as if I wasn’t working hard enough and not making the most out of my short time there. I didn’t know what to do, I didn’t want to hassle my bosses for more work because believe it or not it takes work to find work. For interns,there are things that we have to be taught and told and sometimes the boss doesn’t have time for that. I struggled with this for a long time and I’m still struggling with it to this day. How do I keep myself busy without poking into things I shouldn’t? I learned a couple things that helped me out a bit. First, there is always little work around the office to do but it won’t find you, you have to find it. I had to learn how to find work to do that wasn’t disruptive and that would require no assistance from any of my supervisors. Second, it’s okay to work on other things, if I have some things I need to take care of outside of work and I have no assignments I might as well take advantage of the time. Finally, just because I don’t feel like I’m being productive and I’m helping out doesn’t mean that’s the case. It meant more to my supervisors that I completed the tasks they gave me to my best ability than it did to just always be busy. In my time here I learned that my internship was about quality not quantity.

Leave a Reply

