A NEW YORK CITY STORY | BLOG #4

Being the Human Recourses Intern at a huge advertising agency, such as Mediavest | Spark, has opened countless doors and opportunities for me. Not only have I gained experience that has prepared me for all of my future endeavors, but I have made connections and relationships that will last a lifetime.

In terms of what this internship has done to better my near future, career, or personal plans – the list is endless. If I were to pick one specific instance, it would be the meeting I had with my supervisor, the Head of Human Recourses, on my last day. We sat down together and talked about my experience and what I had learned / gained over the past 11 weeks. To end the conversation, she began to tell me that she would be more than happy to help me find another internship next summer.

These summer internships are about experience. I was so intrigued by how willing people were, even strangers, to help gain the information you are looking for. Throughout the  summer I would reach out to people in different departments in order to shadow them and get a feel for what their day-to-days were like. I didn’t once, get a ‘no’.

Creating these relationships and connections this summer, will without a doubt, help me to achieve my goals and aspirations of both the near and far future.

Leave a Reply

