Developing Independence in the Lab | #2

My favorite experience while working in a research setting this summer would have to be the time when I first started to work alone in the lab. Not only did this prove to me that I was ready to take on hands-on science, but it also made it clear that my senior mentors trusted me with the skills that I had displayed. At times, when I am unsure of what is going wrong with my experiment, I will change various variables to try and distinguish what it may be that is faulting my data. Looking back on moments such as those really makes me appreciate a step towards independence in the lab because this exposure is forcing me to think like a scientist and think through problems on my own.I have developed the ability to be able to know what some of my data should look like and I have began to understand what to look for at certain points on a graph/chart. After long hours of reading and studying, it has paid off and I am now helping to innovate and create new understanding among the science community.

I have developed the ability to be able to know what some of my data should look like and I have begun to understand what to look for at certain points on a graph/chart. After long hours of reading and studying, it has paid off and I am now helping to innovate and create new understanding among the science community.

 

Leave a Reply

