Future Plans | Blog #10

After completing my internship I was able to get a taste of the Venture Capital industry. Knowing what I know now, I plan on pursuing Investment Banking upon graduation first. The main reason for this is so that I can gain a comprehensive analytical skillset. I firmly believe that the analytical skillset that can be gained from Investment Banking could be beneficial for me for a career in Finance. Now I may not necessarily stay in Investment Banking in the long term, but I will most likely start my career in it. Furthermore, I now fully understand the importance of being authentic and truthful in what you want. We all may have heard the age old adage, “fake it till you make it”. This is only true to a certain extent. Faking it till you make it can hurt you in the longer run since you won’t be truly following your passions and you sometimes have to tip toe around to get a desired outcome. Therefore, I will truly do what I love to do and pursue it.

This internship has also influenced some of my other short term plans. I will definitely work more on my soft skills and continue to hone my technical knowledge by reading books and taking courses in my spare time. Additionally, I also became cognizant of not hesitating taking action. I realize that decision making fatigue can cause people to fall short and not succeed. I need to go all in and be more decisive. The internship has also influenced my short term school plans as well. I will be more concerned about taking courses that help me to expand my knowledge and not necessarily provide an easy way to boost my GPA.

Leave a Reply

