The Final Movement | #5

This past Friday was my last day at the Detroit Symphony Orchestra. I’ve had the most amazing time this summer interning with my favorite orchestra. These past eight weeks have been truly enlightening and I’m forever grateful the opportunity.

I have titled this blog ‘The Final Movement’ with regards to the final movement of a symphony. A symphony is a musical composition written for full orchestra containing multiple movements, typically four or five. In the final movement of a symphony, the composer recapitulates the entire piece referencing themes and motifs from the previous movements. In this final blog, I will attempt to do the same recapping my internship. In my first blog Make No Little Plans | #1 , I was so excited about my first week on the job. I had the opportunity to attend rehearsal, sit in on important meetings and even meet the conductor Maestro Slatkin! In Zero to Hero | #2, I attended a fundraiser event called the “Heroes Gala”. It was truly spectacular and probably one of the busiest times at the Symphony. The event was held to not only honor local philanthropists John A. and Marlene Boll, but also to raise funds for the educational and outreach programs. LIVE From Orchestra Hall! | #3 recap the amazing day I had including open rehearsal and oneDSO Lunch with fellow employees. In my remaining weeks I was given a video editing project where I came across all this great footage from the previous season in Only the Best for the Fest | #4, including the promotion videos for their annual festivals. Check them out. They’re too adorable! IMG_3846

This summer has been truly rewarding. I could not have thought of a better way of spending it. On my last day, the advancement department I worked in took me out to lunch for my last day. We had such a great time. After cleaning out my desk and taking off early, I could not leave without saying my final goodbyes. Having my boss tell me to “Give me a call after graduation” truly left me on a high point. The Detroit Symphony Orchestra has played an influential role in my past, currently in my present, and hopefully in my future as well.

 

Leave a Reply

