Influence on my Future | Blog #4

My internship changed my view on philanthropy. Before, my understanding of philanthropy was idealistic, but this showed me the competitive, business-like environment of development and fundraising. I noticed the difficulties in obtaining support because of limited human and capital resources and how it is navigated through hard work and collaboration. As my summer concludes, philanthropy will continue to play a major role in my life professionally and personally.

I will

  • become a leader in my community on issues of race, class, gender, and opportunities for children,
  • give back to causes that relieve immediate suffering and that continue the advancement of the world,
  • teach future generations to understand the value of philanthropy and make it a meaningful part of their lives,
  • and help people find their philanthropic passions by connecting them to organizations that can provide a mutually beneficial relationship.
Leave a Reply

