Maybe a Career Change Lies Ahead | #3

When I came into this summer I believed that this internship was just something to do so that I could buy some time to figure out how I was going to get to where I thought I really wanted to go after graduation. However, now being nine weeks into my internship with Total Quality Logistics (TQL) I find myself always talking about work and always wanting to go into the office early while also staying late. I think that over the past nine weeks this internship has grown on me and it has opened my eyes to the broader picture that is life. I truly believe that sometimes at Michigan we get sucked into having a narrow minded view of what is “success” but I’ve found that the connotation I believed was “success” and now what I see my coworkers view as “success” aren’t the same which to me is interesting. I think at TQL success is making over 100k a year doing freight brokering. It’s fast paced, stressful and it is absolutely a 24/7 job. However, being an econ major at Michigan my mind always believed that success was working a 9 to 5 job, making 75-80k while sitting at a desk in New York.

I wouldn’t say that this internship has changed my mind about what I want moving forward after graduation but I would say that it has really made me question the type of work environment I want for myself and for my family in the future. I think I still want to go back to school to get my MBA in finance but truthfully I may stay in sales until I decide to do that. I don’t need to be the cookie cutter student anymore and I am very thankful for this summer because it has really changed the way I view things. I think Michigan is amazing and I love that I attend such a great school but sometimes I do think that I get sucked into believing that I have to be a certain way because that’s what’s expected of me. The truth is I don’t have to do anything the way someone else does it. I’m my own person and the attributes that I want and need in a job aren’t always going to align with what others want, and that’s okay. I’m me, and finding out what I need is what I have to keep trying to do, one experience at a time. That’s why I will always be thankful for this summer, because who knows maybe this internship is just the start of it all…

Leave a Reply

