Acclimating to a Doctor’s Life #1

The first couple days here in Spain have been a whirlwind. I have never experienced the combination of medicine and Spanish in this way before.

Each day I get to spend in the hospital, I get more excited about going to medical school and being able to function as a physician in the United States with the versatility of being bilingual.

I experienced the opposite situation in the United States earlier this summer when I shadowed doctors in the United States that were not able to speak Spanish and had to utilize a translator over the phone to talk with their patient. Something so vital is lost when there cannot be communication between the physician and the patient.

I am excited for what the continuation of my summer brings and to meet all the mentors I will be paired with in the following weeks.

Leave a Reply

