What surprised me most

What surprised me most about my internship: Going into my internship this summer, I didn’t know what to expect- This was my first internship, and since coming to college I’d never worked outside of my research lab back at Michigan. Now, I was beginning an internship at Merck, a major pharmaceutical company. I guess I imagined some sort of super regulated intimidating corporate workplace, so going into it I resolved to work my hardest and remain very professional, expecting it to be a tough work environment. I could not have been more wrong! Immediately, everyone in the department offered to talk with me, share knowledge, etc. If I didn’t have anything to do, other scientists aside from my mentor let me shadow them as they worked, and answered questions. I was shocked by how warm and willing to talk to me about their work everyone was, and very quickly was no longer intimidated by a new work environment. I have already learned so much, and made strong connections with experts in a field I want to continue working in!

Leave a Reply

