Roma, Italia | #18

20160729_101937.jpg

Rome!

Rome was beautiful with lots of art and delicious food.

I had decided to go to Rome a few weeks ago as a last hurrah because who knows when will be the next time I will be in Europe again.

The way there was very interesting. I surprisingly didn’t have any trouble with getting up this time, and everything ran smoothly. This cannot be said for all of those that were with us. One girl had overslept so she had to rush to the train station so she could make it to the Cologne airport. When she arrived she had on a pair of dress pants, but that wasn’t the funniest part. I had noticed that her pants had looked weird. The pants had the pockets awkwardly placed in the front. At first, I thought that the placement and configuration was a bit weird, but as I took a longer glance I thought to myself those pants must be on backwards. I wasn’t the only one to realize this because someone pointed it out then she turned around. That was the dead giveaway because we saw the clip of the dress pants on the back. She got a chuckle out of it. She also broke her suitcase because she forgot the handle on her suitcase didn’t go down, so she was trying to force it and  broke it. While at the airport she proceeded to tie her shirt around the handle so she could roll it around instead of carrying it. Her misfortune had to be the funniest part of the trip.

When we  finally get there, the first thing that I noticed was the change in weather and of course the palm trees(I love palm trees). Coming from Germany, where the weather was gloomy and chilly, the weather in Rome was almost the complete opposite- sunny and scorching.

While at the Coliseum we had a rough start. We had bought our student discount tickets online thinking that we would save time and money. We were so wrong. Once we got to the desk after waiting in line for about an hour to receive our actual tickets, we were told that they were not valid because all except one of us, who contained an Austrian and US passport,  were not citizens of the EU. So we had to pay the regular price on top of what we already paid. It was kind of a bummer, but we didn’t let that spoil our day because we had a wonderful time and took some really cool pictures.

Rome was very gorgeous. I think that I got a chance to see most of the city. The only thing I wish I would have done was taken a guided tour of some of the place I visited because I like learning about history. I mean yes it’s cool to look a beautiful architecture, but getting the story behind the art makes it so much better.

I know that picture is weird, but I love it. During the photo, Frank, the guy standing behind me, unexpectedly grabbed my chest, so I just went with it. It was actually pretty hilarious.20160728_190638.jpg20160728_214031.jpg

20160729_102902.jpg

20160729_115036.jpg

Leave a Reply

