Reflection and Future Plans | 5

Now that my internship is officially over, I think it is a good time to reflect on both the experience and my future plans. I learned a lot over the course of the summer, and the experience will be very useful for me moving forward in my search for opportunities next summer. Next summer, I hope to be able to secure another internship type position in order to expand my experience even more and become more qualified in my field. Although I know that I want to do another internship, I am still pretty unsure about what type of job I would specifically want to go for. At this point, I am still deciding whether I’d like to do another academic internship or if I would rather do something in the private sector. If I was to pursue another academic summer opportunity, I would like to do an REU (Research Experience for Undergraduates), offered by the NSF. This program tends to be pretty selective in who they admit, so  having previous full-time lab experience will probably help me if I choose to pursue an REU opportunity.

Although I’m not opposed to working in an academic setting again next year, I do think it would be interesting to get more experience in the private sector and see what the biotechnology and pharmaceutical industries are like. Since I plan on going into this field professionally when I graduate, I think it would be great for me to gain some experience as an intern. If I was to pursue an internship in the private sector next year, I hope that I would be able to do things outside of pure research and development, such as the business side of biotechnology. I’m extremely interested in the way that research and business blend together in the pharmaceutical industry, eventually resulting in breakthroughs in disease treatment. Since the pharmaceutical industry is one that often receives a lot of criticism from the media for high drug prices, I want to see the industry for myself and make my own judgement of the moral standards of the industry before I become fully involved.

Leave a Reply

