Final Week. Week Six. | #4

For my final week in the office, I am working with the OSS team. The OSS team helps with troubleshooting any network, computer, and technology-related issues. My experience so far with the OSS team has been great. They were all welcoming and have taken the time to show me vast amount of work in the short period that I am here. I am only on day 2 of this rotation and I am being taught the rudimentary parts in building a computer from scratch. It is a very interesting “first task” if I do say so myself. As I progress through this task I am learning so much on the components of a computer, their function, and their contribution to the system as a whole. It is so neat to be able to see how a technological system mimics the circulation of a biological body. It may just be my imagination working harder than it should, but those are the small connections in life that put a smirk on my face.

As you can see, this internship is wrapping up on a high note. It has given me insight to the world of business: specifically to accounting. I feel that I am going out a much different person than I came in. That can be both a good and bad thing, because even though I know more of business, it has allowed me to question whether or not business is a career pathway that I would like to pursue. Yes, the work is interesting, and yes, I have enjoyed my time through this internship, but I am not convinced that I can see myself doing this work for an extensive period of time. Moving forward, I am going forth with taking business classes this fall and will see how it goes. Maybe business is not for me. Maybe it is time for me to reevaluate my interests. One thing I can say confidently is that this internship with EY really opened my eyes before it was too late.

Leave a Reply

