Summer in the Nation’s Capital | #3

After living in Washington D.C. for 7 weeks, I have officially fallen in love. When I was initially offered a position in Discovery’s D.C. office, I felt a bit hesitant. After all, I interned in New York City last summer and knew many more people there. I had only been to D.C. one time in my life and I loved it. But I still felt apprehensive. After much consideration, I decided the step outside my comfort zone was exactly what I needed.

I have thanked myself ever since. Washington D.C. has a charm to it that is truly indescribable. Everyone I have met here is incredibly driven, motivated, and smart. It is eye-opening to move somewhere where you feel like people (for the most part) enjoy hearing about your job, speaking about current events, and engaging in intellectual conversations. Additionally, the city has so much history and culture to offer — the opportunities are endless. With all the Smithsonians being free of cost, there is no excuse not to polish up your history (or art, air & space, American Indian, etc.) knowledge. Weekends are never boring here. Whether it’s attending a talk on the history of the president’s cabinet, hitting up Jazz in the Garden on Friday nights for sangria and jazz, kayaking down the Potomac River, aimlessly wandering in the Renwick Gallery, strolling around the National Mall, going to the DuPont farmers market on Sunday mornings, or watching the Nationals play in 100 degree weather, you will never find yourself with nothing to do. What I love about D.C. is the fact that it’s a huge, bustling city, but it doesn’t feel chaotic or stressful in any way. The pace isn’t unbearable or hard to handle, unlike a lot of major cities. It’s perfect for someone who is excited about city life, but still wants the chance to see green and breathe the fresh air.

In all, D.C. is a place that I would be more than happy to return to after graduation. At the same time, this summer has taught me that one of my strengths is my ability to adapt to new situations. I think I could find my niche in any new place. With that being said, D.C. is truly unbeatable.

One thought on “Summer in the Nation’s Capital | #3

Leave a Reply

