Blog Post #2

Describe your favorite experience as an intern this summer.

 

Though there are been numerous moments throughout my internship that I have found to be so rewarding and meaningful, one stands out to me specifically. Sparkling Ice, a beverage company works towards making their marketing strategies as unique and customer specific as possible. Throughout San Francisco and the Bay Area you will find creative advertisements, “pop-up” stands, promotors, and free drinks. As an internship task, I was asked to come up with different ways to market our product in a style we have never done before. I looked at our distributors, sales, and target demographics to find a strategy that we have never done before. After doing my personal research, I discovered that we sample sell product to a similar demographic. Therefore I proposed to spend a week going to different homeless shelters giving each individual a drink.

My boss loved the idea and put me at the head of the task. I contacted multiple homeless shelters throughout the Bay Area and set up times my co-interns and I could make a trip to their shelter and give everyone a free drink. This was the most rewarding experience because although I knew that many of these individuals would not go out and buy our product, it was so fulfilling to see a smile on their face. People didn’t understand why we were just giving out free drinks, they thanked us over and over again, and had the biggest smiles on their faces.

Leave a Reply

