Real and Fake Doctor | Blog #2

Working in a hospital, you engage with many different people and experience many different fields of science, all working together to create a better hospital experience for patients. Recently, I had the pleasure of chatting with an employee in the Radiology Oncology Department.

Now, I should explain something first. Most pre-health majors are very smart. Most pre-health majors, and a do stress most not all, are also really full of themselves. I wish I understood the mindset more, but I guess I wouldn’t be far in saying that most of them know they are the best-of-the-best, so they act like it. They think they know more than other because they got a good grade on in a science class, but the main problem is not that this hot-headed stigma exists, but that I myself believe it. This is how I went into the conversation with the employee from oncology who, by the way, has an MD/PhD degree…

As an undergrad, one of the first questions I ask him after learning of his degree was “is it worth it to get both?” and his answer has changed my career path forever. He told me of his day-to-day life as a board certified physician and a research scientist. How he worked to heal patients during the day, and on the side would do research into new radiopharmaceuticals (organic compounds labeled with radioactive isotopes to be used for imaging or radiation therapy). Everything he said is exactly what I want to do in the future: working with patients and doing research, and the best way to do that is to get a duel-degree.

What this means now, is that I need to get into medical school, which means that I am now a pre-health major and all the stigma that goes along with that. But, a good friend recently said to me that “as long as you are aware of it, you should be find. But if you forget, we will be here to remind you.”I will not accept this stigma and stay true to who I am for the sake of who I will become, whatever that is.

 

 

Leave a Reply

