Overcoming Obstacles|Blog #3

The halfway mark of my internship sort of sneaked up behind me, and I feel that at this point, we are really a well oiled machine. MeVee, while still a young startup, is gaining more and more investors (partly because of the work I have done 😉 ) and we continue to improve as a small workforce.

Today I asked my boss to take 15 minutes to speak with me at lunch, offer some feedback, and review how things have been going on my end. I am very proud to state that he is pleased with my performance and really appreciates the observable change I bring. We discussed an angel investor outreach project that I worked on last week. It was about as affective as it could have been, and as a result, we were able to get more money into the company which is always a big plus at any point.

In response to my asking, “Is there anything that I could work to improve?” I was told that I could be a bit more patient, which was constructive criticism that I have often heard in my life. I understand, because when I work on an excel spreadsheet for hours on end, I sometimes make a comment about how difficult it is, and while usually playful, perhaps I shouldn’t say it anyway. However, all in all, I am very pleased with my new skills in microsoft excel (which I believe is vital to many fields of business and finance), and in general my ability to navigate NYC, a job, and all this experience has offered. Additionally, I might argue that the same things that I am proud to have accomplished and learn, were also my biggest obstacles. I had no idea how to reach out to celebrities, investors, work with financial projections, and it took a lot of work, but I continue to do so and learn.

I believe that hindsight is 20/20, and that there is always room for improvement, so I could have been more efficient. It took me a few days to obtain the tools for finding contact information, or learning how to make projections,  but I learned even more from my mistakes. I think I have been doing very well, and I am glad my boss sees it that way as well.

 

 

Leave a Reply

