The Future | #3

I’ve known that I want to be a lawyer since the 6th grade. However, I wasn’t always sure what kind of lawyer I wanted to be. In the past I’ve gone back and forth quite often over what type of law I want to study. However, over the course of the last 3 years, I have wanted to practice civil rights law, and this internship has further solidified this for me. Since working at the National Women’s Law Center, I am positive that law school is the right place for me and I am even more positive that I want to practice civil rights law. I can’t imagine myself doing anything else. Social justice work has always been important to me and a majority of the things that I devote time to outside of school are SJ related. It makes sense for me to continue to do this work as my career.

One specific thing that this internship has helped me realize is that I want to do more work in reproductive justice and educational equity. These are two areas that I have cared about, but never really devoted a lot of my time to. However, working at the NWLC has made me realize how much I care about the issues in these sectors. Prior to this internship, I wanted to work on workplace discrimination and immigration law. However, now I am hoping to broaden my focus areas. I know this sounds counterintuitive. It seems odd to broaden the areas that I will be honing in on, but at this point I can’t really decide what issues I care about the most. I care too much about too many things. Luckily, I have 3 more years of undergrad and 3 years of law school to figure it all out.

Leave a Reply

