First Week on the Job: #1

I have had a busy and productive first week at Nielsen! I have been surprised by the complexity and diversity of the Nielsen business. Nielsen is a leading global information and measurement company that helps its clients understand consumers and consumer behavior. It measures what consumers watch and buy. The founder of the company, Arthur Nielsen is the first to offer market research and is credited for creating the concept of “market share.”

As an HR intern at this summer, I will be supporting the global watch operations of the business. The projects that I will be working on are creating a call center talent incubator, a compensation analysis, a field training video and a quick sourcing guide for regional field managers. Due to the breadth and diversity of my projects, I have spent most of the first week learning the Nielsen business, meeting with my project supervisors and outlining a detailed project plan. My manager and coworkers have been super welcoming and helpful so my on boarding process has been relatively seamless. I still have a lot of learning to do, but I am excited for the weeks ahead!

Leave a Reply

